Home Page

St Aloysius Catholic Primary School Together with Jesus, we Love, Learn and Believe

EYFS Curriculum

Welcome to St Aloysius Catholic School


The period from age 3 (Nursery) to the end of the

 Reception year is known as the Foundation Stage. It is a distinct stage with its own curriculum and Early Learning Goals.


At St Aloyisius we provide an engaging learning environment designed to inspire, promote curiosity and exploration in a safe environment for children to create, think critically and take risks.


The staff in the Foundation Stage work closely with all children to ensure that all needs are met.  By following children’s interests teachers plan creative lessons which engage the children and give them ownership of their learning. Through adult and child led activities the children build independence, resilience and a wealth of knowledge enabling them to achieve and succeed throughout their school life.


The Early Years curriculum is organised into seven different areas of learning. Each of the areas are broken down into 17

Early Learning Goals. The areas of learning are:


¨ Personal, Social and Emotional Development

¨ Communication and Language

¨ Physical Development

¨ Literacy

¨ Mathematics

¨ Understanding of the World

¨ Expressive Arts and Design


At the end of their time in Reception your child will be

assessed against each of the Early Learning Goals. You will be told whether your child is;

¨ EMERGING– Not yet achieving the Early Learning Goal.

¨ EXPECTING- Achieving the expectations for the Early Learning Goal.

¨ EXCEEDING– working beyond the expectations of the Early Learning Goal.